top of page


Seattle Public Schools honors Principles Advancing Educational Justice and Racial Equality.

The Thomas B. Foster Award for Excellence recognizes and honors "two outstanding Seattle Public Schools principals who have demonstrated success in advancing educational justice and racial equity in their school community." The selection process considers colleague and community nominations, school data, commitment and effectiveness. The 2022-2023 School Year Recipients are Nathan Hale High School principal Dr. William Jackson III, Ed. D and West Seattle Elementary principal Pamela McCowan-Conyers (Please see attached photos). Each school had a surprise assembly this week, where The Alliance For Education presented each recipient with a $25,000 check to use towards their schools. Nathan Hale High School's Assembly was on Wednesday, 04/05/23 and West Seattle Elementary School's Assembly was on Friday, 04/07/23. Along with each principal's students and staff, those on hand to congratulate them included SPS superintendent Dr. Brent Jones and School Board director Leslie Harris.



bottom of page