top of page


Special Elections Scheduled for April 28

OLYMPIA — Roughly 1%, or 52,000, of Washington’s registered voters will have an opportunity to participate in special elections across 10 counties on April 28. A total of 15 districts will have measures on the ballot.

The following counties will conduct the elections: Clark, Cowlitz, Douglas, Garfield, Grant, Kitsap, Kittitas, Mason, Okanogan, and Pierce. Previously, 18 counties were slated to conduct elections for more than 30 jurisdictions, but several districts rescinded their elections amid COVID-19 concerns.

Voters who are unsure if they will be eligible to participate in the upcoming election can visit to check their voter registration. Individuals who are not registered to vote can do so online at through April 20, or in-person at their county election office through 8 p.m. Election Day. Mail-in registrations must be received by April 20. 

Due to courthouse closures and with the governor’s ‘Stay Home, Stay Healthy’ order in effect through May 4, the Secretary of State’s Office encourages Washingtonians to contact their county election offices before making in-person visits.

Washington’s Office of Secretary of State oversees a number of areas within state government, including managing state elections, registering corporations and charities, and governing the use of the state flag and state seal. The office also manages the State Archives and the State Library, documents extraordinary stories in Washington’s history through Legacy Washington, oversees the Combined Fund Drive for charitable giving by state employees, and administers the state’s Address Confidentiality Program to help protect survivors of crime.


bottom of page